

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Stephanie Coen, Director of Artistic Affairs <a href="Scoen@SDCweb.org">SCoen@SDCweb.org</a> 646.524.2231

# STAGE DIRECTORS AND CHOREOGRAPHERS SOCIETY (SDC) ANNOUNCES EXECUTIVE BOARD ELECTION RESULTS AND THE PRESIDENT'S AWARD FOR EXTRAORDINARY SERVICE AT ITS ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING, NOVEMBER 18, 2024

Saheem Ali, Joshua Bergasse, Michael John Garcés, Joseph Haj, and Dan Knechtges Elected as Executive Board Officers

Newly elected Executive Board members include Anne Bogart, Moisés Kaufman, Sam Pinkleton, John Rando, Ellenore Scott, and Leigh Silverman

Steven Hoggett elected as the Union's first International Representative

President's Award for Extraordinary Service given to Michael John Garcés

(New York, November 20, 2024) – Stage Directors and Choreographers Society (SDC) announced the results of its 2024 Executive Board elections at its Annual Membership Meeting on Monday, November 18. SDC's Executive Board is comprised of directors and choreographers working in every form and in every jurisdiction, who respond to the needs and ambitions of the Membership as the Union continues its charge to increase jobs, compensation, and protections for directors and choreographers in the field.

**Michael John Garcés** was re-elected to serve a second term as Executive Vice President and **Joshua Bergasse** was elected First Vice President after serving as Third Vice President. **Joseph Haj** was re-elected to serve a second term as Second Vice President and **Dan Knechtges** was re-elected to serve a second term as Treasurer. **Saheem Ali** was newly elected to serve as Third Vice President. They join returning Executive Board members **Evan Yionoulis** (President) and **Melia Bensussen** (Secretary).

Anne Bogart, Moisés Kaufman, Sam Pinkleton, John Rando, Ellenore Scott, and Leigh Silverman were newly elected to the Board to serve as At-large members. Steven Hoggett was elected as the Union's first International Representative. Incumbent Board members Saheem Ali, Donald Byrd, Lisa Portes, Lonny Price, and Annie Yee were re-elected to three-year terms and Valerie Curtis-Newton was re-elected as Northwest Regional Representative.

"The new and returning Officers and Executive Board members announced on Monday are leaders in the profession," said Yionoulis. "The Executive Board takes seriously their fiduciary responsibilities and works diligently to see that the Union carries out its mission to unite, empower, and protect its Members. This year, as a sign of our commitment to developing and deepening relationships with our International Members, we welcome Steven Hoggett as the Union's first International Representative. All 35 Board members are a remarkable group of directors and choreographers whose rigorous and strategic leadership serves our Membership well."

Yionoulis presented this year's President's Award for Extraordinary Service, which is traditionally given to a Member whose contributions have been deeply meaningful to the Union, to **Michael John Garcés** in recognition of his partnership during her tenure as the Union's President. Yionoulis noted that Garcés is "both compassionate and eminently sensible; he's perceptive, unwavering when a principle is at stake, and brings to his observations a welcome sense of the ironic."

Also at the meeting, Yionoulis recognized outgoing Executive Board members **Christopher Ashley**, **Jo Bonney**, **Rachel Chavkin**, **Kathleen Marshall**, **Ruben Santiago-Hudson**, and **Bartlett Sher** for their invaluable work and service.

# **SDC Executive Board Officers**

President, Evan Yionoulis
Executive Vice President, Michael John Garcés
First Vice President, Joshua Bergasse
Treasurer, Dan Knechtges
Secretary, Melia Bensussen
Second Vice President, Joseph Haj
Third Vice President, Saheem Ali

## **Members of the Executive Board**

Anne Bogart, Shelley Butler, Donald Byrd, Desdemona Chiang, Valerie Curtis-Newton, Liz Diamond, Byron Easley, Justin Emeka, Lydia Fort, Leah C. Gardiner, Christopher Gattelli, Steven Hoggett, Moisés Kaufman, Michael Mayer, Robert O'Hara, Annie-B Parson, Sam Pinkleton, Lisa Portes, Lonny Price, John Rando, Jon Lawrence Rivera, Ellenore Scott, Leigh Silverman, Katie Spelman, Susan Stroman, Maria Torres, Tamilla Woodard, Annie Yee

# **About SDC**

SDC is the theatrical union that unites, empowers, and protects professional stage directors and choreographers throughout the United States. Our mission is to foster a national community of professional stage directors and choreographers by protecting the rights, health and livelihoods of all our Members; negotiating and enforcing employment agreements across a range of jurisdictions; facilitating the exchange of ideas, information, and opportunities; and educating current and future generations about the critical role of directors and choreographers in leading the field. SDCweb.org

###

